What to Grow at Home

It’s planting time in Colorado, and if you’re like most CSA members, you might be wondering just what makes sense to grow in your own garden so that you don’t duplicate the produce you’ll be receiving from the farm. First consult the Summer Produce guide from Monroe to make sure you are familiar with the crops the farm grows. Then create a garden plan that works for your family. Here’s my plan for the summer:

Herbs – I maintain quite a few perennial herbs (thyme, sage, chives, garlic chives, tarragon, mint) and then plant some new ones each year, including a new rosemary bush, parsley, oregano, and basil. The farm does grow basil, but I can always use more to make pesto!

Zucchini – even though the farm grows summer squashes, I like being able to harvest the blossoms and stuff them. If I end up with too much zucchini I shred it and freeze it.

Salad greens – I know we’ll be getting wonderful leafy lettuces from the farm before you know it, but I plant Swiss chard, arugula and spinach to round out my options for greens.

Green onions – mine actually continued to grow over the winter and are ready to harvest. I’ll be enjoying these for the next few weeks and I’ve planted some seeds to start a new crop.

Tomatoes – despite what we get from the farm, I feel like I can’t get enough of these. I grow as many as I can then can or freeze them for use over the winter. If any are left green in the fall I make Green Tomato Bread with them.

What will you be planting this year?

2 responses to “What to Grow at Home

  1. Those squash blossoms sound so delicious! I am a sucker for anything stuffed with cheese and fried, though! I can’t wait to try them this summer!

  2. I have planted corn. We never get enough to can. Sweet potatoes. Brussel sprouts! More tomatoes and lettuce. Also green peas.

Leave a Reply

