What I Made This Week: Turnip, Pea & Kohlrabi Stir-Fry

Today’s post is from member Anisa Schell, author of the LazyHomesteader.com Anisa has been a member with the Monroe’s since 2008 as both a working member and a non-working member. She and her family enjoy a full share.
________________________________________________________

The summer farm season has started!  I know a lot of members don’t always know what to do with the many great vegetables that we get each week from the Monroe’s, so I thought I’d start a semi-regular series of posts talking about what our family made with the farm share each week.

Last week’s share came as a surprise.  My husband was out of town for the week, and I was planning on leaving on Thursday to join him; we pick up our share on Tuesdays, so this left me a day and a half to get through a full size share with two kiddos and myself.  The go-to answer to use up lots of veggies at once… stir-fry!

First, after soaking all of my greens, turnips and kohlrabies in cold water to revive them, I trimmed and washed the peas, cut the turnips into half rounds, and the kohlrabies into sticks.  I also minced  three or four of the garlic cloves.

I washed the turnip greens well and roughly chopped them.  You could also add the kohlrabi tops, but we keep chickens in the backyard so I tossed the tops to them for a little treat.

Normally, I would start a stir fry with onions, but my goal with these recipes is to make a meal out of vegetables that only came in our share.  Last week, there were no onions so I started with sautéing the garlic in hot oil.  I use a large, non-stick, wok-like skillet.

After the garlic began to get fragrant, I added the turnips, kohlrabi, and peas.  While these were cooking, I heated some water to soak rice noodles in.  When the peas started to turn bright green, I added the turnip greens along with low sodium soy sauce, rice vinegar, and sesame oil.   I kept tossing and stirring so nothing burned or stuck to the pan while my noodles finished soaking.

When the noodles were ready and drained, the veggies were all about crisp-tender and the greens nicely wilted, I added the noodles to the pan with a beaten egg or two.  I tossed everything together until it was well mixed and the egg was cooked.  You could substitute rice for the noodles if you wanted.  And because I like things spicy, I hit my own bowl with a nice squirt of sriracha sauce.

The stir-fry was fast, really simple and was a hit with the boys.

Turnip, Pea and Kohlrabi Stir-Fry with Noodles

3-4 cloves of garlic, peeled and minced
Two large handfuls of peas, washed and trimmed
3 kohlrabies, peeled and sliced
4 turnips, sliced into half rounds
Greens from turnips, washed and chopped
3 TBS reduced sodium soy sauce
2 TBS rice vinegar
1 tsp sesame oil
1 package of rice stick noodles, prepared according to package directions
2 eggs, lightly beaten
vegetable oil for pan

Heat oil in pan over med-high heat.  Add garlic and saute until it begins to get fragrant.  Add peas, kohlrabi and turnips.  Let cook about 5-8 minutes until peas turn bright green and the other veggies start to soften.  Add greens, soy sauce, vinegar and sesame oil.  Continue cooking, stirring often until the greens are wilted and veggies are crisp-tender.  Add cooked rice noodles and eggs to pan.  Stir to combine and coat with sauce.  Egg will cook very quickly.  Serve (with sriracha if you like a kick).

What did you do with your first share of the season?
________________________________________________________
Read more from Anisa at The Lazy Homesteader.

7 responses to “What I Made This Week: Turnip, Pea & Kohlrabi Stir-Fry

  1. Pingback: What I Made This Week: Turnip, Pea & Kohlrabi Stir-Fry « The Lazy Homesteader

  2. I made garlic mashed potatoes using the turnips and kohlrabi (and garlic and potatoes, of course).

  3. I made turnip fries: I quartered the little turnips and tossed with olive oil and parmesan cheese, nutmeg salt and pepper to taste then roasted at 425deg until the cheese was browned and crispy, about 20 min. I didn’t turn or stir. The girls gobbled them in about five minutes :)

    I also made noodles with peanut sauce: I stir fried some peas and nappa cabbage in a little bit of sesame oil and Bragg Aminos, then added them to cooked buckwheat soba noodles. I made the sauce with (approximately) 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1/4 cup Bragg Aminos, 1/4 cup water, 2 Tbsp rice vinegar, Juice of about 2 limes, 1/2 tsp roasted red chili paste and blended in blender.

  4. Please keep this going! We did this last night and we all loved it; my husband “thinks” I have a good handle on what to do with our veggies this year. Thanks to you, I might be able to put some good meals on the table (giving you credit, of course.)

  5. I made this and it was fantastic! I used mirin instead of rice vinegar b/c I was out. I added some sesame seeds for fun. I used bok choi from my home garden instead of the turnip greens b/c I was too lazy to keep them. Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Kohlrabi | Groundswell Cooking

  7. Thanks for finally talking about >What I Made This Week: Turnip, Pea & Kohlrabi Stir-Fry | Monroe Organic Farms <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

