Chile Relleno Casserole

If you are like me and you still have roasted peppers in the freezer (last year was an amazing pepper year, wasn’t it?) and the zucchini is beginning to take over your kitchen, then this might be a recipe for you to try!  I know the recipe calls for 6-12 roasted peppers, but my poblanos from last year have a bit more bite.  I have only been using about 3 and that has been enough for us.  I originally did this recipe with some more mild roasted Anaheim’s from a 2 years ago.  Use your own judgement for the pepper amount. I’ve successfully used less meat in the filling, too.

Chile Relleno Casserole

Brown together
1 large onion, diced
1 pound lean ground beef

when nearly done, add
2 cloves chopped garlic
2 cups shredded zucchini
salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbsp chili powder

Then stir in
diced green chiles, 6-12, to taste

Pour into prepared 9×13 pan.

Top with 1 1/2 c shredded sharp cheddar cheese or jack cheese…more or less to family preference

Combine
6 eggs, beaten
1/4 c + 2 Tbsp flour
2 c milk
salt and pepper

Pour egg mixture over meat and cheese. Bake at 350 for 45-55 minutes or until browned and bubbly.

2 responses to “Chile Relleno Casserole

  1. Lucky you! My green chilis were gone in April 😦 and hey, this casserole woudl be good as a stuffing for a zuchini boat perhaps

  2. Made this last night. It was a great use of many of my Monoroe items. I think next time I will spice it up a bit more by doubling the garlic and adding cumin and Mexican Oregano.

Leave a Reply

