What I Made This Week: Roasted New Potatoes and Carrot Fries

Potatoes!  I love the new potatoes we get from the farm.  They are so creamy and good, I always have to use them right away.

This week, I roasted them along with the carrots.  I cut the larger potatoes into halves or fourths, and cut the carrots into fourths the long way.  I tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted them in a hot over for about 25 minutes.

I served them with some elk steak we had in the freezer and a quick salad made from the lettuce and some thinly sliced turnip, which reminded us a little of radishes.  I had an avocado in the house, so I threw that in the salad with some lemon juice, salt and pepper and olive oil.  The salad would have been great with a hard-boiled egg, but I didn’t have any on hand.

Roasted New Potatoes and Carrot Fries

Cut larger potatoes into halves or fourths.  Peel and slice carrots into fourths length-wise.  Place on baking sheet and toss with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Roast at 425° for 25 minutes, with out tossing or stirring.  Serve.

What did you make this week?

________________________________________________________
Anisa has been a member with the Monroe’s since 2008 as both a working member and a non-working member. She and her family enjoy a full share.  Read more from Anisa at The Lazy Homesteader.

3 responses to “What I Made This Week: Roasted New Potatoes and Carrot Fries

  1. I have never tried roasting carrots…looks like a perfect substitute for fries…and so much sweeter 🙂

    Thanks for linking up! I look forward to following your blog 🙂

  2. Anisa, I was inspired by your stir fry dinner from the week before last so I just stir fried the scarlet turnips and their greens along with some of the lovely snow peas, carrots, zuch and patty pan squash and some garlic. I cooked it all in coconut oil which was heavenly with a little soy and some black rice. Thanks for sharing! Looking foward to roasting some potatoes and carrots when it cools off a bit – sounds delicious!

  3. We take the root veggies, slice them in a food processor, put oil in a large skillet and fry them with basil, garlic, salt etc. That comes out nicely also.

Leave a Reply

