Veggie Catch All: Tostadas

My first year with Monroe was tough – like everyone else, I had to adjust to receiving food rather than choosing it from the grocery store.  It’s been years now and I’m well adjusted to the rhythm of being part of a CSA…I actually dread the few months of the year I have to go to the store.  That said, there are weeks when I just want to use a LOT of vegetables from the fridge in one fell swoop so that I can start fresh with the next delivery.  That’s how this tostada recipe – no, method…recipe is too organized sounding – was born.

Tostadas

  • 1-15 oz can refried beans
  • 1 package tostadas (try to buy something without hydrogenated oils)
  • Olive oil
  • Chopped or diced veggies – whatever you’ve got on hand.  This week I used red onion, green peppers, summer squash, corn, cabbage, tomatoes, tomatillos and cilantro (Some of this is from my garden.  Strangely, I grow more food in addition to the wonderful goodies we get from Monroe’s!)
  • Grated cheddar or monterey jack cheese
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Gently heat refried beans in a small saucepan on low heat.  Meanwhile, heat a medium saute pan with a tablespoon of olive oil.  When hot, add diced vegetables and cook to your preference of doneness, seasoning with salt and pepper along the way.  I like to soften red onions quite a bit to take the bite out of them.  I like to saute summer squash until the water is released and they brown a bit.  I cooked everything above except for the cabbage, tomatoes, tomatillos and cilantro, which I added later as toppings.

Assembly:  spread 2-3 tablespoons of warmed beans on each tostada.  Top with cheese, then sauteed vegetables.  Finish by adding cabbage, tomatoes, tomatillos and cilantro (or whatever YOU have on hand.  Avocado would be a delicious addition.) on top.  Be careful not to overload the tostada, or it will fall to bits…but it will still taste good!

2 responses to “Veggie Catch All: Tostadas

  1. Terrific recipe and just the way I like to cook. Maybe those who have too much summer squash will be able to enjoy it like this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Lovely … that’s supper tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

