Green Drink with Basil

I got a VitaMix some months back after drinking a (very expensive) glass of ‘Kale Aid’ at True Foods Kitchen in Denver. The Kale Aid was delicious, and I figured I could replicate it at home. What I didn’t count on was the texture of celery in a regular blender – not so nice. In came the VitaMix.

If you don’t drink your veggies with frequency, I wouldn’t recommend a VitaMix as it’s something of an investment, but if you’re committed to having a blended drink every day (and using all manner of veggies in it), I would suggest you take the plunge. It can work anything to a nice, smooth consistency, and it’s a great way to get your greens in for breakfast.

Faced with the baggie of basil in last night’s share, I wasn’t up for making pesto, but this morning, I was definitely up for trying it in my smoothie – and what a success! A small handful with my fruits and veggies added a really nice flavor element to the smoothie. The following recipe isn’t really a recipe – it’s a guideline. Use what’s in your kitchen and what sounds good to you at the moment. Experiment and have fun!

Today’s ingredients:photo (4)

3 tbsp ground flaxseed
3/4 c frozen strawberries
Handful of ice cubes
1 ripe banana
1 ripe apricot, pitted
3 leaves (and ribs/stems) kale
3 leaves (and ribs/stems) swiss chard
Handful basil
Handful Italian parsley
500 – 700 ml water

I vary the ingredients depending on what I have on hand in the kitchen. For mornings, I almost always add a banana (seems breakfasty to me), and always have some greens. This is a great way to get lots of fruits and veggies in to start your day. The above recipe serves two generously.

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?

Leave a Reply

