Newsletter – July 29, 2013

logorooster.gif

Hello Members,

This week you are getting Yukon Gold potatoes, sweet white onions, Scarlet turnips, carrots, summer squash, regular cucumbers & Lemon cucumbers, eggplant, purple & green bell peppers, green beans, tomatoes, sweet corn, muskmelon (yum) and possibly some basil. Not a bad haul this week! Enjoy!!!

Produce Payments: Thank you for sending in your 2nd payment for your vegetable and fruit share. Payments were due July 15th. A Late Payment Fee will be assessed the first week of August if you did not pay half of your remaining fees. If you are one of the few that has arranged a payment plan, no fees will be assessed as long as payments are made on a regular basis.

The Farm: Everything is really looking good on the farm so far. Because of the drought, we planted less acres and can take care of the farm more. Such as mowing and weeding. This does not mean you won’t see any weeds on the farm…far from it! But we have done a better job this year ~ even though we are short staffed! Now all this could change as more crops have to be harvested. Hum…maybe I spoke too soon!

Harvest Festival: Another reminder about the Harvest Festival on September 22nd: This is such a fun day! We start out with a pot-luck picnic. We cook hamburgers & hot dogs; you bring the side dishes and desserts. There is a walking self-tour of the farm buildings, u-pick crops to explore, games for the kids and a shucking contest for all ages. Horse drawn equipment can be seen in use north of the barn. And don’t forget to plan for and make your stick horses for the Stick Horse Race. Prizes will be awarded for the best in show! I want to have a craft table up this year…any ideas? I was thinking about a farm mask…decorated with items found & collected on the farm. I think this could be very fun activity!

Jacquie’s Soapbox: I haven’t started this as of yet this summer, so I thought I would start on a subject that really gets my goat! I get cut off a lot in traffic. I’m not sure if it’s because I am big or if they think I am slow. In either case, I am afraid I will kill someone someday because of it. Trucks leave that space between them and the car in front of them for safety and for braking. I think most people have forgotten the basics of momentum! I cannot stop on a dime. I have not only the speed in which I am traveling, but also my weight to consider. When someone zips around me, then comes to a screeching halt because of traffic…well, it makes it very difficult for me to stop before I reach that car. There has been many a time that I have come to a stop within a foot of the vehicle in front of me. I’m not sure what these people thought they were doing, but I can only hope they will think twice before cutting off a truck in the future! My family can testify: I have screamed at the top of my lungs, “Did you really want to die today?!” Please be aware that trucks need distance to stop. Do not swoop in a take that space trucks have left open! Jacquie, Jerry, Kyle and Alaina

Leave a Reply

